Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction

Sexy Summer Black Lace Reading at Sh!

ShAug2013 006You know an erotica writer is destined for greatness when she gives her first ever reading in a sex-toy store, and a woman tries to steal a vibrator by stuffing it down her pants.

This is what happened to SM Taylor whose story, Forbidden, won Black Lace‘s short story competition and is published in Thrill Seeker. These high jinx took place last night, Saturday, at Sh! Womenstore in London where Ms Taylor had joined me and the amazing Justine Elyot for our double book launch.

Punctuality’s not my strong point, as friends and colleagues will testify, but twice this year I’ve been late for my own book readings, and that really is beyond the pale! At Latitude Festival, I got lost in the woods and had to stand under a big tree while Black Lace’s editorial assistant came to find me. Last night, public transport conspired against me, meaning I arrived at Sh! around the time I should have been reading. Oops!

In my absence, Primula Bond was very kindly reading, giving me chance to catch my breath, knock back some fizz, and try not to squee disruptively when I realised I was sitting next to Justine Elyot.

It was a wonderful evening, full of kinkery, laughs, industry gossip and a fabulous generosity of spirit. I read a couple of pieces from Thrill Seeker; Justine read some hot, witty spankiness from Seven Scarlet Tales; and Ms Taylor read part of her supremely sexy story, Forbidden – and stayed perfectly poised as the vibrator-theft shenanigans clattered about in the shop upstairs. (Check out my interview with SM Taylor to learn more about this fab new writer.)

I got to chat to KD Grace who’s blogged about the evening – well, her weekend, by accident – and to a number of other writers, readers and bloggers I’ve met at various events during this last year. I’m reminded again what a wonderfully smart, supportive community we have in the world of sex and erotica, our sense of solidarity a consequence, no doubt, of us being deviants and misfits in a sexually-fucked up culture. It’s fabulous to be in a room, surrounded by dildos, crops and lingerie, discussing erotica and publishing, while over in the corner, someone is being gleefully flogged.

I’m hoping to make it to more Sh! events in this coming year. Next time, I’ll try not to be late!

September 1, 2013 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Kristina…I love the snap!

    Comment by mikey2ct | September 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you! And thanks too to Mr KD Grace for being very handy with a camera.

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | September 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. “our sense of solidarity a consequence, no doubt, of us being deviants and misfits in a sexually-fucked up culture”

    Beautifully put, and I quite agree!

    Thanks for the lovely write-up—this is of course something I would have love loved to attend in person, but given that pesky ocean between us, I at least appreciate the opportunity to experience it vicariously via your delightful words!

    Comment by Emerald | September 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hmm, I guess if I were going to miss a typo in the form of a repeated word in that comment, “love” would be the one I’d prefer! (Sorry about that…holding a piece of pizza in one hand and typing with the other. 🙂 )

    Comment by Emerald | September 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Extra love! What’s to complain about? And yeah, that ocean does get in the way.

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | September 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. Maaan, I was repressing the disruptive squeeing x a million when you came and sat next to me! And coveting your green leather coat at the same time. What a great night – it has to be done again. In the meantime, Thrill Seeker is my new bedside book.

    Comment by Justine Elyot | September 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Again, yes please! It all went by so fast. I was reading about the Drama Llama on the train back to Brighton. Much fun!

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | September 3, 2013 | Reply

  5. […] In late August, I joined Justine Elyot and SM Taylor at Sh! in London for a joint book launch of Thrill Seeker and Justine’s Seven Scarlet Tales. As ever, the special Sh! brand of hospitality made for a fabulous, fun evening. You can read my take on the event, and the foiled vibrator theft, here! […]

    Pingback by My Erotica Ups and Downs in 2013 « Kristina Lloyd | December 29, 2013 | Reply

  6. […] a book at Sh! last year, the readings were disrupted by a would-be thief trying to flee the shop with a vibrator stuffed down her pants. The shop’s cool, calm and kickass manager apprehended the woman (who I think might have had a […]

    Pingback by Kristina Lloyd at Sh! / Blog | October 14, 2014 | Reply


Leave a comment