Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Erotic romance writing competition

I recently sent the manuscript of my fourth novel, Thrill Seeker, to the new editor at Black Lace, so to celebrate, here’s some peen!

I love hairy bodies! Give me this over trimmed, waxed and polished any day of the week.

If you missed it on Twitter and FB, I’m one of the judges in a short story erotic romance comp hosted by Black Lace and The Daily Mail (a newspaper I don’t often read…). Portia Da Costa (who is now a Sunday Times bestseller!) is judging too. Deadline is 31st October. Click here for entry details. Prize is publication with Black Lace, so it’s a comp aimed at newbies rather than old hands.

Thrill Seeker, the novel I’ve just finished, breaches many of the comp’s writing rules, especially 4 and 9 (but that doesn’t make it an immoral book!). I’m hugely looking forward to reading the submissions, and hoping there’ll be sparks of originality in the scenarios and use of language. We’re also running a writing workshop at Random House in November where I’ll be passing on my writerly wisdom and top tips, and trying not to swear too much. See the Mail’s comp page for details.

And check out Black Lace’s gorgeous new website. Submission guidelines (novels only; no shorts) are under ‘contact us’.

I haven’t written a novel for a few years. Damn, it feels good! I really put my characters through the emotional wringer with this one. Bags of suspense too.

Before I go, how’s this for an Erotica Cover Watch success? These are forthcoming anthologies from publishers I once railed against for their sexist marketing evidenced by their refusal to put men on book covers. I have 3 – 4 super-short stories in both these books. More on that when publication is imminent. In the meantime, man-muscle drool…

October 2, 2012 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I imagine you’re going to get some really interesting stories for that competition, as there are no guidelines about what is and isn’t acceptable.

    Comment by antoinettemsmut | October 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, ‘interesting’ is a nice way of putting it…

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | October 3, 2012 | Reply

      • I giggled at that. Luckily for you, I’m in the US, so I won’t be making any “interesting” contributions.

        Comment by antoinettemsmut | October 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. All very positive. 🙂

    Comment by Vanessa | October 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

