Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Scruffy Jottings

This is a photo I took recently of the sign for Brighton’s Over Street. I saw it as one of those shabby little jewels you find hidden among Brighton’s streets, and it was a reminder of how much I love this town.

This post is also the blog equivalent of a tissue. Yesterday’s picture is coming up large on my Goodreads profile! I fear I’m lowering the tone over there and ought to get the jizz off my page, sharpish.

I’m also grabbing this chance to remind you of Alison Tyler’s wonderful blog, Scruffy Jottings About Filth. It’s a site where erotica writers show their notebooks to the world. I sent my notes in a few years ago, and when Alison posted about them the other day, I found myself fascinated by my own scribblings. I don’t think this was narcissism, simply the result of forgetfulness. Once a book is whole, published and stamped with an ISBN, my memories of the joy, despair and chaos of the creative process behind it fade fast. I’m sure I’m not the only one. Looking at my own notes was almost like looking at someone else’s. I thought she was slightly mad.

Anyway, check it out. Danielle’s anecdotes about his editor are gorgeously funny. I love hearing about how other writers work, seeing their handwriting and doodles, and the paper they write on. Alison’s keen to showcase more scruffy jottings so drop her a line if you want to bare your smut-writerly all.

There, that was a bit more respectable, wasn’t it?

June 14, 2011 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd

4 Comments »

  1. 🙂 I loved that story – I got the full version, of how she has a beautiful office wit ha day bed in it to work on. And she’s a dignified lady, but sits down to analyse in depth where the comma should go in the sentence with ‘cunt’ in it, leaving Danielle red faced and mortified as she tries out all the possible arrangements 🙂

    Your notes were so neat, Kristina!

    Comment by Jo | June 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’d love to be a fly on the wall at those meetings!

    My notes scare me! They’re psychotically neat… like, what is she hiding? But as I said, they weren’t notes, as such. I was trying to rein in the chaos. Split has a lot of refs to Wuthering Heights, and the story-within-a-story was part of that. I’d like to see Emily’s notes on her plot structure. But I bet she kept it all in her head and sorted it out on long, blustery walks. My second, tea-stained page is much more representative of the crap in my notebooks.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. I know the feeling, Kristina. You don’t want to just delete the post but . . . hmm . . . is it a bit much?
    Mine’s not usually because of photos it’s because I’ve revealed too much about myself. And then recently, when you represented me at the Erotic Awards Ceremony where I won Best Story Teller, 2001, I just thought – enough already! I must post something else! How long can I expect people to continue to congratulate me for winning Best Story Teller of the year?

    My notes on my novel were shockingly materialistic. Something like this: Oral, spanking, anal, anal, masturbation, crop, oral, threesome, anal. As Felix lamented one night, “Oh for another orifice.”

    Comment by Madeline Moore | June 15, 2011 | Reply

  4. Madeline: Congratulations on winning Story Teller of the Year, 2011! See, I’m keeping it going for you.

    Awesome notes – and to the point. You should send them to Alison.

    PS. Your cock is still in the workshop, hanging out with wooden dildos, leather cuffs and knives. Jeez, the things that thing will have seen by the time it gets to you!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

