Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Sex in the City – in the city!

Look out London! Next week, Maxim Jakubowski and authors from his Sex in the City series will be descending on Sh! Womenstore shops in Hoxton and Portobello.

On Friday 22nd, I’ll be at the Portobello store reading from my short story, The Caesar Society. Joining me will be Maxim, Stella Duffy, Lily Harlem and Neil Norman. On Thursday 21st, Hoxton plays host to Maxim, Liz Coldwell, Shelley Silas and Matt Thorne.

Check out event details here and drop an email to Sh! if you want to come along and enjoy some steamy stories while sipping a glass of fizz. I’m a big fan of urban geography and of fiction with a strong sense of place, and the stories in this series have that in spades. It’s also wonderful to see authors from outside the erotica genre getting their hands dirty, as it were. Neil Norman is a playwright and a film critic for The Evening Standard; Matt Thorne was longlisted for the Booker Prize for his novel, Cherry; Stella Duffy’s State of Happiness was nominated for the Orange Prize, while Frank Delaney (not appearing) is a critically-acclaimed Irish writer and New York Times bestseller.

I’d love to see this series grow and grow. If I were off to one of these cities, I’d be packing the relevant anthology along with my Rough Guide (that’s the guide book, not some sexy, scruffy brute who’s going to show me around). (I’m meeting him there, you see; plus he has too many muscles to fit in my suitcase.) Sadly, my holidays are done for this year but I do fancy closing the curtains of an evening and visiting New York from the comfort of my armchair. I reckon I’ll make that my next trip! What else do I need? Bagels? Hershey bars?

If you want it now and you want it bad, download your vacation here (no e-reader required) or kink up your Kindle on Amazon UK (fly to Dublin tonight!) or Amazon US (London’s lovely in the autumn!) (that’s Fall, in your language).

Hope to see some of you next week!

October 13, 2010 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | ,

5 Comments »

  1. You might like the bagel sticks better. ; )

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. There are sticks? Heck, imagine what all the bagels get up to when we’re not looking!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | October 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. And I didn’t even mention the “schmear.”

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | October 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. I wish I could be there for them all! I’m going tomorrow for KD’s launch – but I’m not close enough to do any more 😦

    Good luck guys, and have fun! x

    Comment by Lucy Felthouse | October 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oooh, I googled and learned a bit of Yiddish. Nice word, J!

    Cheers, Lucy! Have fun tonight – I’ll be there in spirit.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | October 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

