Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Three of the Best

BWE2010

I’m thrilled to reveal that a story of mine, On My Knees in Barcelona, has been selected for inclusion not only in Violet Blue’s Best Women’s Erotica 2010 but also in Violet’s Best of Best Women’s Erotica, an anthology spanning the last 5+ years of the series. Wow, me! I’ve never subbed anything to Violet before (and I think she’s awesome) so I’m bowled over by the double hit. BWE 2010 is released in December this year and Best of Best will be out in Spring 2010. Violet says of this year’s anthology:

Best Women’s Erotica 2010 is going to be fucking tight and hot and will get under your skin in the best ways; it’s a collection of the most unexpected literary erotica I’ve ever seen.

I can’t wait! So far, I know Rachel Kramer Bussel is in BWE 2010 but I’m not sure who else is in either of the volumes. I’d love to find out.

In more Best news, my story Such a Special Couple, first published in Alison Tyler’s J is for Jealousy, has been chosen by Maxim Jakubowski for his annual Mammoth Book of Best New Erotica, out early 2010. As ever, Mammoth offers a stellar line-up (and probably a rotten cover) with stories from Jeremy Edwards, EllaRegina, Shanna Germain, Donna George Storey, Craig Sorensen and I’m not sure who else because I just copied all those names from Jeremy’s blog!

Anyway, my big disappointment in all of this is the cover for BWE 2010. I pretty much expected to see an image of an eroticised woman but, because I live with this crazy thing called hope, a tiny fragment of me was thinking, Well, maybe it’ll be different this year; maybe Cleis, a supposedly progressive, liberal, feminist press, will make a move to be less sexist; maybe they’ll make a gesture by using an image including, say, a guy’s hand. After all, the call for subs asked for ‘primarily heterosexual’ fiction. But nope, Cleis just reached into their Arse Files and stuck a woman’s butt on the front. With covers like that, small wonder last year’s BWE volume is riding high in Amazon’s lesbian erotica and fiction charts. Anyway, in the interests of gender equality, I’m reaching into my own Arse Files to repost one of my favourite sexy-man-with-bare-butt images.

Gregory Capra (1)

Ah, I do love that pic.

June 20, 2009 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Well, let’s see…

    Best congrats,

    Best of best congrats,

    Mammoth best congrats,

    And cover condolences

    Oh, and thanks for cut-n-paste shout out! 🙂

    Comment by Craig Sorensen | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s awesome, Kristina! Congratulations!!

    Comment by neve black | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. Bestestest congratsatsats!!!

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks, guys!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love when you reach into your arse.

    XXX,
    Alison

    Comment by alison tyler | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. Yeah, I’m hoping to get some good search string hits with that one!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  7. As the others have said, many congratulations, Kristina. I trust you will remind us when those books become availble to buy or pre-order. Well done.

    Comment by pierre l | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  8. Pierre, you probably won’t be able to shut me up.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  9. Congrats, Kristina!

    That is awesome about the double hit!

    Comment by Angela Caperton | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  10. Thanks Angela. Looks like we’ll be seeing each other in the TOC of 10!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  11. Congrats! Nice pic!

    Comment by L | July 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

