Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

It was the best of times…

mammothbest-sex-2009

Ah well. Regular readers of this blog (and that one) will know I don’t go a bundle on cover art featuring headless women. And this month, I have a brace of releases featuring faceless babes …  what? Wanking? Shielding their shame? Teasing the reader to slip past those fingers and into the fiction? (And by implication into her.)

These two images suggest all of the above to me and, aside from my regular grumble about the sexism of erotica books only ever featuring women, I think these covers and what they say about female sexuality are dreadful. However, right now, let’s try and get past that and celebrate what’s inside: me!

Both these Bests are out in the UK round about now. Maxim Jakubowski’s Mammoth Book of Best New Erotica 8 (US link) features my story, Boot Camp, first published in Alison Tyler’s F is for Fetish. (You can read an excerpt here on AT’s Trollop Salon.) There’s a whole host of fabulous and familiar names inside: EllaRegina, Nikki Magennis, Alison Tyler, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Kristina Wright, Jeremy Edwards, Donna George Storey, Craig Sorensen and many many more. This Mammoth also has the dubious honour of being the book which started Erotica Cover Watch.

And I’m thrilled that Rachel Kramer Bussel selected my essay The Pleasure of Unpleasure for inclusion in her Best Sex Writing 2009, released last week in the UK (US release here). This is quite a personal piece I wrote on female submission and sexual degradation, first published on the group author blog, Lust Bites (and re-posted here). I wrote:

The notion that female erotica should be softer and more romantic is wildly offensive. Ditto the implication that a women who wants to be dominated by a man must lack her own mind. She doesn’t want it. She’s merely a victim and it’s her damaged, self-loathing psyche talking. Oh, purlease.

People responded to the piece extremely positively on Lust Bites and that did mean an awful lot to me. I’m pleased the article’s now getting to reach a wider audience. I consider myself primarily a fiction writer and, to be honest, I recognise only a handful of names in this collection (the awesome Violet Blue being one of them). A lot of the writers are US journalists and editors so I feel like I’m at an amazing party and now I’m starting to suspect my invite was actually intended for someone else so I’m knocking back the champers, wondering if I’m going to get rumbled.

Anyway, there’s some fascinating and thought-provoking pieces in the book which has its very own blog. Interestingly, in the book’s intro RKB says of last year’s Best Sex that many people said ‘they’d expected something far juicier from the racy cover. If you’re looking for the latest jerk off material, please check Cleis Press website.’ And I completely agree: these covers do a huge disservice to the content and misrepresent what the books are about. It’s a real shame and I do wish Cleis would stop defaulting at semi-nekkid babes for their non-LGBT books. (And that link takes you to what I consider to be the finest piece of non-fiction I ever wrote in the world of blog!)

Incidentally, the arse on last year’s Best Sex belongs to Georgina Baillie, granddaughter of ‘national treasure’, Andrew Sachs – which will mean something to UK readers but probably sod all to those in the US – and, trust me, you guys are best off out of it.

In other news, I wrote and subbed five short stories in January. Five! Five! Me! I think that’s a personal best and – yay! – three have already got the thumbs up. A great start to 2009!

January 30, 2009 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. A double dose of congratulations, KL!

    I’m so honored to be part of MBBNE, in the company of writers–for example–like you! (And like the others you name!)

    It’s awesome how your prodigious talents shine in both your fiction and nonfiction. And it’s terrific to see one of your Lust Bites pieces taking on new life in print form. The essays you folks wrote at LB deserve indeed to be seen as important discourse and not mere ephemera.

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. First off, congrats on your inclusion in the Bests.

    And I wholeheartedly agree with you – where are the men? (I checked out BICEPS and just put that on my list of must check regularly blogs!

    Still want to poke around a bit more here, but have a few chores first.

    Haha, though a bizarre thought just popped into my head (about the headless covers) – maybe they thought we’d (women) like to imagine our own heads atop those bodies? I do remember switching the heads on my Barbie dolls.

    Comment by Erobintica | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Congrats on getting published in those two great collections, and thank you for the shout-out. I’m honored to be in Mammoth 8 with you.

    And huge congrats on finishing five short story submissions in a month. Fantastic!

    Comment by Craig Sorensen | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for all the congratsing!

    Erobintica, we’re always happy to have more people backing BICEPS. Thank you! I’ll get links to your blog up soon on our list of ‘extra muscle’. We’ve been a bit quiet over there lately but hope to pick it up again soon.

    And Craig, I haven’t done the maths yet but I think five stories this month is equal to the number of stories I wrote in the *whole* of 2008!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  5. Congratulations and congratulations!

    And it’s a complete honor being in Mammoth 8 with you (& Craig and Jeremy &….)!

    (And thanks for the mention.)

    Whoo-hooo for you!

    I hope you have a very productive 2009!

    Comment by EllaRegina | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] don’t get a say too. We get published in anthologies that have covers which say really confusing and offensive things abo…. I know a lot of authors feel the way we do and don’t say anything. Because it’s a cold hard […]

    Pingback by Erotica Cover Watch: Frenzy, ed. Alison Tyler « Erotica Cover Watch | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. Yikes. That’s a lotta stories, Kristina. Big congrats from me, too. I’m happy to assume that your Erotica Cover Watch blog isn’t causing your career any harm. Because as we all know, what the world needs now is MORE Kristina Lloyd.

    Comment by Madeline Moore | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  8. Great blog I love it! I write my own naughty sexy one too! Its always great to find other hot and empowered girls writing like this. So do you like Georgina Baillie? I think she’s really hot – http://hotmandy.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/ross-is-back-in-town/ am really looking forward to her new series. Another great move for sexy women taking control as she is directing it too! x

    Comment by hotmandy | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  9. Thanks EllaR and Madeline!

    And Mandy, glad you like blog. Am afraid I don’t know much about GB except she strips and sings (I think). And I don;t think women getting their kit off is particularly empowering. It suggests women’s sexuality is all about women’s bodies and about being desired. I prefer to do the desiring myself – and I’m straight so what I desire is men and men’s bodies. They are my yum! Click the BICEPS logo in the sidebar for more!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | February 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

