Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Paranormal Romance in the UK

16122008650
I hear this ‘paranormal romance’ malarky is jolly popular in The United States of America.

I took this photo when I was out shopping the other day. OK, so I was in WHSmiths which, for those of you who don’t know, is the place to buy books if you don’t really like books.* But even so…

UK and US writers sometimes talk about how differently romance is regarded and marketed on either side of the pond. I thought this was a neat illustration of how the Brits do it (or rather, how we don’t). This is actually the first time I’ve seen a section of a shop labelled ‘paranormal romance’. In the booktrade, these stands are known as ‘dumpbins’. That was the section. It wasn’t a dumpbin standing next to several similar shelves. That was it. You may need to click through to the big image to see that most of the titles are in Norwedic or somesuch.

~~~

*WHSmiths used to stock erotica. In my local Brighton branch they shelved it under ‘Crime’. I kid you not. And once in that shop (the only time ever, anywhere) I saw someone actually buy one of my novels – a copy of Asking for Trouble. A bloke. He was standing there, merrily reading dirty books and breaking their spines, as men sometimes do because it’s their section, and I went to stand sort of behind him/next to him with my female friend. There were two copies of AFT. After a few seconds of ‘acting natural’, I said to Sally, in my best casual voice, ‘Oh, this one’s set in Brighton, it’s meant to be really good’ and pulled down one of the copies. Bloke immediately selected the other copy and scuttled off to the till.

I imagine he wanted, most of all, to get away from me and Sally but hey – sale!

December 21, 2008 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd

9 Comments »

  1. The only problem with this method of selling is that you can’t be in every bookshop all the time. Incidentally, I originally came here from Kay Sexton’s blog. I am ordering AFT.

    Comment by pierre l | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Guerilla sales tactics! I love it. And so much fun, too! Waiting for the next one…

    Comment by Rhonda Leigh Jones | December 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. Cool, thanks Pierre! I really hope you enjoy AFT. (And I love that you came from Kay’s blog. It’s really interesting to know how people got here.)

    And Rhonda, yeah. I should lurk in the dirty book section more often!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | December 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hello again Kristina. Just an update to say that Darker Than Love arrived before AFT and I thoroughly enjoyed reading that. I have just started AFT this morning.

    Comment by pierre l | January 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the kind words, Pierre. AFT is stylistically quite different to DTL and much edgier. I wrote DTL when my publisher had quite strict guidelines about, among other things, the kind of language you could and couldn’t use. They weren’t keen on cunt and fuck which is why I wrote a Victorian-era novel. I couldn’t conceive of writing an erotic contemp without those two key words! I wrote AFT shortly after they threw those guidelines in the bin and I had a wonderful time! I hope you like the book.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. Love your books Kristina! The setting and characters are so fascinating and the sexy bits really do make my heart pound. Read AFT first, and I would love to see the photo that Ilya sent to Beth. Felt quite sad when I finished it, but pick it up to read my favourite parts quite frequently – that phone conversation and when they first meet!! Currently reading Split and really enjoying it. I look forward to reading more of your work. Best wishes to you.

    Comment by Charlotte | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  7. Charlotte, thank you! You must be the Charlotte who recently left me a wonderful Amazon review. Thanks so much for taking the time to do that. Good reviews really do seem to help sales.

    Glad you liked AFT – and yes, I like the phone conversation too. It was a sort of writing challenge as well for me – could I do an entire chapter of dialogue and keep the tension and the sexiness high? I think it worked okay and really racked up the tension between Ilya and Beth. I hope you enjoy Split and again, thank you. I really appreciate the kind words and the review.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | January 5, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hello again! Just to say I loved Split and I loved Kate for being so outwardly normal. She wasn’t a hot bodied babe who spent ages putting on fancy underwear, which made her erotic experiences so much more appealing, and sexy. Hey, she could be me! I’ll have a bit of what she’s having…. not all of it but a taster would be nice!

    The idea of the whole village being in on the “reenactment” was very powerful. I was certainly spooked by all the dolls on display in the shops and cafe, making a brilliant build up to the night in the church. The interlude at the pub, where things start to fall into place was simply gripping.

    “Wow!” is all I can say about the church scene…

    “Compare and contrast the church scene in Split and the B&B scene in AFT” would make for a great debate at an open-minded Book Club!!

    And of course I would love to know EXACTLY what happened to Kate at the end!!

    My next read will certainly be DTL. Best regards.

    Comment by Charlotte | January 11, 2009 | Reply

  9. Charlotte, you are my new favourite person! Thank you so, so much. And massive thanks for another wonderful Amazon review. It really is great to hear from readers and to have them spreading the word when they like a book. I’m so grateful.

    And, yes, that would be quite a book club. I hope you enjoy DTL – it has more in common with trad romance than AFT and Split do but it’s still full of filth. And the question to ask yourself as you read is – Will it end in another gangbang?

    Thanks for the support!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | January 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

