Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Vampires, strippers and a thousand tiny stab wounds

lustatfirstbite

Lust at First Bite, the latest anthology from Black Lace, is out now. It features my story, The Funhouse is Closed Mondays, which centres on two characters from my vampire novella, The Vampire’s Heart. In The Vampire’s Heart, Simeon and Suzanne were living in Arctic exile with their other lover, Billy. They’ve since de-camped to New York where they’ve made their home in a derelict ghost train in Coney Island. Here’s an excerpt, set in the funhouse, where they meet Christophe, the leader of NY’s vampire pack.

A thud on the floorboards made them turn and there was Christophe on the far side of the room, knees bent as if he’d just jumped from a height. Grinning, he swaggered towards them, looking oddly like a thuggish black Cossack, bare chested with fur-lined boots below calf-length combats. His hair was close-cropped, a shadow of wool over a menacingly strong head, and a neat goatee framed his plump lips. His skin was the colour of stale chocolate, muscular slabs of brown tinged with a bloodless beige-grey bloom, and tattooed inky flames licked up one big brawny arm. Whorls of dark hair clustered around his pecs and his stomach was a washboard. Around his neck he wore, like a symbol of defiance, a large silver cross.

Simeon’s cock was rigid.

‘Nice to see you, friends,’ said Christophe and he clasped Simeon’s hand, giving it a single shake. Around them, the light was low and purplish, and a stormy lilac glow shone on Christophe’s body.

Before Simeon could reply, Christophe grabbed hold of his hair and plunged a fat, insistent tongue into his mouth. He kissed deeply, his thick lips pulsing, his beard scouring, and all the while, he kept Simeon’s hair bunched, making his scalp prickle as if with a thousand tiny stab wounds.

When they broke away, Christophe smirking and Simeon stunned, Suzanne was gawping. ‘Oh god,’ she said weakly. ‘I love watching men fuck. Keep going, please.’

burlesque-readers_xWatching men fuck seems to have been a theme with me this year. Ah, what a life! The Lion Tamer’s Scars, my story in the recently released Ultimate Burlesque, includes some hot m/m seen through the eyes of Roxy Roxoff, a jaded female stripper working in Psycho Daddy’s Circus of Sin. Ultimate Burlesque is raising money for Macmillan Cancer Support, and last week I did a reading at my local Waterstones along with the founder of the Burlesque Against Breast Cancer campaign, Emily Dubberley, and anthology author, Carmel Lockyer (aka Kay Sexton who’s blogged about the event here). It was a great night, and apparently the book is doing fantastically, chart-toppingly well. Left to right in the pic is Kay, Emily and yours truly, clutching a cup of wine.

For more hot excerpts from Lust at First Bite, check out today’s post on Lust Bites. And don’t forget to take a moment to admire the cover of the book which not only features a sexy guy, but also matches my burlesque socks! It would be wonderful to see more sexy guys on the covers of erotica (as opposed to on erotic romance) but erotica, sadly, is still stuck in its sexist past, publishing thousands of books which act as if men are its only consumers. And the wildly offensive result is covers like this. If you think this is bang out of order, please add your voice to our campaign on Erotica Cover Watch. And thank you!

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | ,

9 Comments »

  1. I haven’t yet read LAFB, but allow me to say that “The Lion Tamer’s Scars” is an eroto-comic masterpiece of a story! Shimmering sex plus scintillating satire–what more could we want?

    We get all this and stripèd socks, too! You take good care of us, KL.

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Jeremy! I do like ‘scintillating satire’!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. I want the vampire book. And I love your tights. And I second Jeremy, ‘The Lion Tamer’s Scars’ is absolutely fucking fabulous.

    Comment by nikki | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. Well conversely, I have read ‘Funhouse’ but not Liontamer’s Scars. Funhouse is absolutely excellent and filthy and very funny.

    I can’t wait to get my hands on Ultimate Burlesque to read more about the brilliantly named Roxie Roxoff. I’m so glad you did something clever with a theme that would have had me stumped.

    M x

    Comment by mathildemadden | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks, Nikki.

    And I must say, the shorts from you and Jeremy are two of the high points in Ultimate Burlesque. I loved how in Jeremy’s Laura the Laugher the laughter *was* the sex, which I read as a ref to burlesque’s origins in humour and parody. From what I see of the contemporary burlesque scene, the humour has been split from the sexiness with men doing the comedy, women doing the bump ‘n’ grind.

    And Nikki, your Catch Me if you Can put me in mind of Angela Carter with its mix of lyrical and earthy. As ever, gorgeous writing, great characters and spiked with dark wit.

    Mat, thank you! Once I’d worked out how to write a story which sexualises men and subverts the notion that burlesque empowers women, I had heaps of fun writing it. Also, vampires! You know I love Blake and your Left Hand Man is another classic!

    Comment by kristinalloyd | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. […] It’s deeply sexy. If you want a taste of the book’s insides, check out the excerpts on my blog and on Mathilde’s. And if you’re still hungry, try the sexy snippets on Lust […]

    Pingback by Man Candy Monday « Erotica Cover Watch | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. The book is on my shelf taunting me. I sat down to read it the other day and opened with you. But then we had an uexpected visitor and no reading for me. Because the universe has a sick sense of humor.

    But I can’t wait! And I covet those tights. Truly. 😉
    XOXO
    Sommer

    Comment by Sommer | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  8. Well, I can honestly say that I do not read books all that often! No need to roll the eye’s, it’s just not my thing! I listen to music! But I have to say that this blog is refreshingly sexual! Very nice to see from a males point of view! I’m very intune to the fact that women have a very healthy sexual side…but it’s never discussed! Very nice!

    Comment by reactops | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  9. Thanks, Sommer. I really enjoyed your teeth. Very original, very fun!

    And hi, reactops (rolls eyes)! If you check out my sidebar, you’ll find there are lots of ‘healthy’ women around here. I hope you’ll find time to check out my other (half) blog too, Erotica Cover Watch. Just click on the muscle at the top of the sidebar. Oh, and read some bloody books!

    Ah, well. Maybe not. Each to their own! Thanks for stopping by.

    Comment by kristinalloyd | November 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

