Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

From Dungeons to Daisies

brighton_fetish_weekend_sbI had a glorious time recently at Brighton’s first fetish weekend. I was speaking on Saturday afternoon at Feast of the Senses, an event held in a Brighton nightclub overlooking the Palace Pier.

As a performer, I got to hang out in the green room where, through a rickety sash window high up in the building, you could see crowds of daytrippers below enjoying sunny, seaside fun. Meanwhile, not far away and unbeknownst to them, a merry bunch of perverts were vampirically shunning the sunlight to watch performance artists and see demos of flogging, electrostim and knife play. I spoke about my work, about the changes in erotica over the years, and read an excerpt from Thrill Seeker. Afterwards, I sold and signed a bunch of books, met more erotica readers than I was expecting, and was generally delighted by the positive response I got from people.

I’ve been involved in kinky/burlesque events before where I’ve been on the bill with people doing more dramatic, visual performances than I, as an author, can ever manage to do. At those, I’ve often felt overshadowed by the performers, and slightly embarrassed because the audience clearly weren’t there to listen to quieter, bookish types. Believe me, when you’re a writer, a stripper is a helluva hard act to follow! I’m happy to say this was a totally different experience, with a friendly, welcoming audience who were genuinely receptive to a range of performances, and featuring a schedule that skillfully balanced a variety of acts. This fabulous, funny video from the compere, Vee World Mistress, gives you a flavour of the event. I’m not in it but photos may surface at some point.

Plans are already afoot for Brighton Fetish Weekend in June 2014. Join the Facebook group for details as they develop.

KL_latitude2013My next public event is at Latitude Festival in a couple of week’s time where I’ll be giving a talk as a Black Lace author in the Ebury tent (Sunday 21st July, 4.30pm). Latitude is an arts and music festival, one of the smaller, less crazy festivals in the UK. At least, that’s what I’m told. The tricky part is: I don’t do festivals; I don’t do camping! So, argh! If you have any tips on how to survive a festival for someone who doesn’t even own a pair of flat shoes, SHARE!

Otherwise, if you could all just pray for me, that would be great. Thanks.

July 5, 2013 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Re. being on a bill with visual performers, as a writer: When I appeared at Essensuality–an event that included burlesque artists, comedians, singers, and literary readings–the host told me I was welcome to give a conventional reading if I liked, but she also encouraged me to consider making my reading more of a “performance” somehow. So I engineered an “audience participation” version of an excerpt, in which volunteers came onstage with me and helped dramatize the scene I was reading (along with a hand puppet I’d brought along). The volunteers were fantastic, and the audience was very responsive. I was using a funny scene, and “audience participation” stuff naturally invites playing things for laughs… but I wonder if there’d be a way for an author to do something like this with less lighthearted material as well.

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | July 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] and a reading, and after that hung out in a wonderfully warm and kinky atmosphere. (You can read more about my experience here.) Brighton Fetish Weekend returns in 2014, and I’m thrilled to say I’ve been invited […]

    Pingback by My Erotica Ups and Downs in 2013 « Kristina Lloyd | December 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

