Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

My Next Big Thing: Thrill Seeker

Excitingly, I’ve been tagged by Janine Ashbless for The Next Big Thing, the meme that’s on everyone’s blogs. I’ve haven’t yet revealed much about my forthcoming novel so here goes:

What is the working title of your book? Thrill Seeker. That’s the actual title. The jacket is designed (I wish I could show you!) and the listing’s on Amazon.

Where did the idea come from for the book? The story focuses on Natalie Lovell, a woman who sets out to enact her kinky kidnap fantasies with a stranger she meets via online dating. I’ve wanted to explore kidnap fantasy for a long time. I complicated that basic story by introducing an ex-lover, Baxter Logan, who Natalie’s struggling to let go of. Hey, we’ve all had them.

What genre does your book fall under? Erotica. It’s being marketed as an erotic thriller rather than erotic romance which makes me happy. I have an uneasy relationship with romance. Having said that, this is one of my more romantic novels. It’s not trad romance though, not by a long shot!

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Elisabeth-Moss2 vincent-cassel-x sean-bean
Elisabeth Moss as Natalie Lovell: smart, no-nonsense; likes to flirt with danger Vincent Cassel as Den Jackson: Natalie’s ruthless, sexy-bastard abductor Sean Bean (with a Scottish accent) as Baxter Logan: the irresistible bad-boy ex

Natalie also has a fuckbuddy, Liam. I haven’t held auditions for that role yet. The springs need fixing on my casting couch.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Patty Hearst gets dirty.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? It will be published by Black Lace next year. Pre-order it here, like it or add to your wish list!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Over a year. But the process was very stop-start. I had to keep putting the book aside for weeks and months at a time.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? In terms of story, I don’t know. I haven’t read any other kinky kidnap books (I was afraid). In terms of ‘feel’, it’s close to my second novel, Asking for Trouble, but less hardcore.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? Me! I inspired it. Also, Hastings, an historic, faded seaside town about 30 miles from my home, played a key role. Thrill Seeker is set in a fictional town, Saltbourne, based on Hastings.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Like a lot of my work, the book has a gothic flavour, albeit contemporary. Natalie is snatched and imprisoned in a derelict theatre. Abandoned buildings fascinate me and a dilapidated theatre gave me a wonderfully rich, eerie setting. I took a lot of inspiration from Hulme’s Hippodrome.

hulmehippo

And I’m passing the meme on to three other writers: fellow Black Lace author, Portia Da Sunday-Times-Bestselling Costa; friend and legendary trollop, Alison Tyler; and indefatigable anthology-editor (among other things), Kristina Wright.

Can’t wait to hear what they’re all up to! No good, I’m sure.

November 30, 2012 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. O-M-G! This looks simply amazing and I love the photos of Vincent Cassel and Sean Bean. (No offence intended to Elisabeth/Natalie.)

    Comment by Vanessa | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh wow Kristina – Your stuff is so hot and unsettling (in a good way!) and I know you will be pushing the Black Lace limits as far as they will go … this will be great!

    Comment by Janine Ashbless | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. [...] Thrill Seeker is out in May 2013 (UK) and will be available in the US in June. You can read a little bit about it here. [...]

    Pingback by Cover reveal: Thrill Seeker « Kristina Lloyd | December 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. […] a reminder of who I’d choose to play my characters in a film version of Thrill Seeker, hop back to this post. I’m still taking suggestions for the role of […]

    Pingback by Bad Boys! « Kristina Lloyd | May 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

