Kristina Lloyd

Erotic Fiction Author

Black Lace Erotic Writing Workshop

On Tuesday evening, I co-ran a writing workshop at Random House, London, along with my editor, Gillian Green, and Curtis Brown literary agent, Sheila Crowley.

And what a fine time we had! The event was hosted by Black Lace in conjunction with YOU magazine, and was a mix of discussion, advice, exercises, cupcakes, bubbles, laughter and smut.

Attending were a lively, engaged bunch of people, primarily women, all eager to learn more about erotic fiction, writing and publishing. I learned things too. I learned, for example, that JCB is a slang term for cock (his digger). I’ve been unable to verify this via Google so am left wondering if the term is specific to a certain few women who were sitting in the front row (you know who you are!).

The event was live tweeted under the hashtag #bleroticwriting with followers joining in discussions, such as “Is ‘folds’ an acceptable word for her nethers?” I said yes! I regard ‘folds’ as a fairly innocuous word that’s barely noticed in the flow of sexy writing but I appear to have been outvoted.

My slide to the right proved popular and I made sure we had a good number of half naked men in our PowerPoint presentation. Some might call that gratuitous flesh but I prefer ‘inspiring visuals’.

Gillian and Sheila provided some great insights into the wider world of publishing and market trends, and had no qualms about calling out saucy words in our language of lust exercise. Inevitably, we talked about Fifty Shades. Our audience had a mixed reaction to the book. I got the impression there was a real hunger to discover other erotica writers.

The event, like all the best parties, combined slick organisation with a welcoming informality. The BL team were marvelous and I must thank whoever I stole the above two photos from for this post!

Time flew by and the evening was over far too soon. Everyone had a goodie bag to take home containing novels, notepad, pen and a booklet of writing tips from me, Portia da Costa and Eden Bradley.

At the end, I signed books amid a flurry of chatter, and glowed to hear people say how inspired they felt. For me, that was a mark of the evening’s success. To be part of a panel inspiring people to get creative and write is a real honour.

I can’t wait to do it again.

November 9, 2012 - Posted by | Kristina Lloyd | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. It all sounds fab, good job. But right now I REALLY want a cupcake!

    Comment by Jo | November 9, 2012 | Reply

    • Aren’t they pretty? Someone at BL Towers made them. So much thought and effort went into the event. Truly fabulous!

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | November 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. So jealous, Kristina! I would have loved to have been there. And you have a Black Lace notebook and pen… I am just GREEN!

    Glad you had a good time, though. Maybe they’ll do another one in the future that I can come to :)

    Comment by Lucy Felthouse | November 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Lucy, it was excellent fun! I think there’ll be more at some point. I’d love BL develop this. I used to teach years ago (although never with wine and cupcakes) and I was reminded of how rewarding and exciting it can be.

      Comment by Kristina Lloyd | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] my Black Lace editor, Gillian Green, and Curtis Brown literary agent, Sheila Crowley. (You can read more about my experience here.) In February 2013, I gave a talk at Brighton’s Jubilee Library as part of National Libraries […]

    Pingback by My Erotica Ups and Downs in 2013 « Kristina Lloyd | December 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

